Opening Dates

Open to the public

The British Wildlife Centre opens every Saturday, Sunday & Bank Holiday
(excludes 24, 25, 26 Dec).
We also open daily during state school holidays (see the dates on the right)

Open hours
February to October: 10am to 5pm
November to January: 10am to 4pm
Last admission: One hour before closing

Open for pre-booked visits only

During weekdays in school term time the Centre is closed to the public and available for school visits, when school groups can enjoy the Centre to themselves and learn about Britain’s wonderful wildlife, without distractions. Our philosophy is ‘Conservation through Education’ and educating children about Britain’s native wildlife is an important part of what we offer. On weekdays in term time the Centre is also available for exclusive pre-booked guided tours and photography days.

Exclusive Visits

Have the Centre all to yourselves and enjoy meeting the animals during a private keeper-led guided tour!

We open at weekends, bank holidays & during these state school holidays (2019):

Spring Half Term
Saturday 16 Feb – Sunday 24 Feb
Easter Holiday
Saturday 6 April – Monday 22 April
Summer Half-term
Saturday 25 May – Sunday 2 June
Summer Holiday
Wednesday 24 July – Tuesday 3 September
Autumn Half-term
Saturday 19 October – Sunday 3 November
Christmas
Friday 27 December – Sunday 5 January
The Centre is closed on 24, 25, & 26 December

The finest collection of native wildlife in Britain with over 40 different native species from tiny harvest mice to magnificent red deer.

A fantastic day out for all the family.

A REAL natural history experience.

Scroll to Top